NB This table is experimental and partly outdated. It is kept visible for understanding the concept rather for the actual information. Use your mouse to hover over the table below and see the relations. This tool is by no means complete. For some types of information of publication it may not even list the best search engine. A full listing of search engines is available on the library website. Please let us know whether you think this is useful to get a grasp of the information landscape. Just use the comments option at the bottom of this box.
Please ignore the L and Z links, as they are mostly outdated.
| this type of information ... | ... is mainly in this type of publications ... | ... findable with these search engines ... | .... that have these options |
| 1.Images | 1.Journal articles  |
1.UBU Catalogue  |
1.Follow cited by links |
| 2.Analysis/research findings | 2.Image database | 2.Google (or Bing) |
2.Citation analysis |
| 3.Biographical information |
3.Blogs | 3.Google Books |
3.Filtering with ‘facets’ |
| 4.Book reviews | 4.Books & e-books |
4.Google Images 4. Bing Images |
4.Advanced search options |
| 5.Comments/reviews | 5.Conference proceedings | 5.Google News |
5.Search the full text |
| 6.Context/history of a subject | 6.Documentaries (video) | 6.Google Scholar |
6.Viewing the full text within the system |
| 7.Organisation goals and policies | 7.Encyclopedic articles / encyclopedias |
7.Google Maps 7.OpenSteetMap |
7.Using it for all/most disciplines |
| 8.Facts | 8.Handbooks |
8.Google Translate 8.Wiktionary |
8.Using it to get sources in many languages |
| 9.Introduction a topic | 9.Maps & atlasses |
9.LexisNexis Academic |
9.Predominantly search sources in English |
| 10.News | 10.Newspapers |
10.Narcis |
10.Get links to the full text |
| 11.Opinions | 11.News media (video) |
11.Picarta |
11.Finding older sources from <1945 |
| 12.Overview of a topic | 12.General news magazines | 12.Scopus |
12.Finding older sources from <1900 |
| 13.State of the art of research on a topic | 13.Patents | 13.Subject specific bibliographies |
13.Searching (only) in titles + keywords + abstracts |
| 14. Statistics, numerical data | 14.PhD dissertations |
14. Subject specific encylopedias |
14.Searching (only) in titles + keywords |
| 15.Ownership claims of inventions | 15.Reports |
15.Patent databases |
15.Using the UBUink to get the full text and more |
| 16.Word definitions | 16.Review articles | 16.Special statistics databases |
(16. options depend on the exact search engine used) |
| 17.Statistical tables / reports | 17.Special text collections |
17. Filtering on Open Access |
|
| 18.Systematic reviews | 18.Statline CBS |
||
| 19.Tweets | 19.Topsy (or Twitter search) |
||
| 20.Professional magazine | 20.Van Dale online |
||
| 21.Website (of organisation) | 21.Web of Science |
||
| 22.(Subject) dictionaries |
22.Wikipedia |
||
| 23.Worldcat |
|||
| 24.Youtube (or Google Video) |
Still to do/add: