Skip to main content
Universiteitsbibliotheek – LibGuides

Training scholarly information handling for geoscience faculty & PhDs: 2. (Re)search

Relation between type of information needed, publication types, search engines and functionality

Use your mouse to hover over the table below and see the relations. This is still experimental. This tools is by no means complete. For some types of information of publication it may not even list the best search engine. A full listing of search engines is available on the library website. Please let us know whether you think this is useful to get a grasp of the information landscape. Just use the comments option at the bottom of this box.

The Z takes your to search engines & databases (some only accessible for UU-students and faculty); the L takes you to LibGuides with extensive information.

this type of information ... ... is mainly in this type of publications ... ... findable with these search engines ... .... that have these options
1.Images 1.Journal articles naar LibGuide over dit onderwerp 1.UBU Catalogue naar LibGuide over dit zoeksysteemnaar het zoeksysteem 1.Follow cited by links
2.Analysis/research findings 2.Image database 2.Google (or Bing) naar dit zoeksysteem 2.Citation analysis
3.Biographical information naar een lijst met biografische databases 3.Blogs 3.Google Books  naar LibGuide over dit zoeksysteemnaar dit zoeksysteem 3.Filtering with ‘facets’
4.Book reviews 4.Books & e-booksnaar LibGuide over dit onderwerp

4.Google Imagesnaar dit zoeksysteem

4. Bing Images

4.Advanced search options
5.Comments/reviews 5.Conference proceedings 5.Google News naar LibGuide over dit zoeksysteemnaar dit zoeksysteem 5.Search the full text
6.Context/history of a subject 6.Documentaries (video) 6.Google Scholar  naar LibGuide over dit zoeksysteemnaar dit zoeksysteem 6.Viewing the full text within the system
7.Organisation goals and policies 7.Encyclopedic articles / encyclopedias

7.Google Maps naar LibGuide over dit onderwerpnaar dit zoeksysteem

7.OpenSteetMap naar LibGuide over dit onderwerpnaar dit zoeksysteem

7.Using it for all/most disciplines
8.Facts 8.Handbooks naar een lijst van belangrijke handboeken

8.Google Translate naar LibGuide over dit zoeksysteemnaar dit zoeksysteem

8.Wiktionary naar LibGuide over dit zoeksysteemnaar dit zoeksysteem

8.Using it to get sources in many languages
9.Introduction a topic 9.Maps & atlasses naar zoeksystemen voor dit soort publicaties 9.LexisNexis Academic  naar LibGuide over dit zoeksysteemnaar dit zoeksysteem 9.Predominantly search sources in English
10.News 10.Newspapers naar zoeksystemen voor dit soort publicaties 10.Narcis naar dit zoeksysteem 10.Get links to the full text
11.Opinions 11.News media (video) naar LibGuide over dit onderwerp 11.Picarta naar LibGuide over dit zoeksysteemnaar dit zoeksysteem 11.Finding older sources from <1945
12.Overview of a topic 12.General news magazines 12.Scopus naar LibGuide over dit zoeksysteemnaar dit zoeksysteem 12.Finding older sources from <1900
13.State of the art of research on a topic 13.Patents 13.Subject specific bibliographiesnaar dit soort zoeksystemen 13.Searching (only) in titles + keywords + abstracts
14. Statistics, numerical data 14.PhD dissertations naar LibGuide over dit onderwerpnaar zoeksystemen voor dit soort publicaties 14. Subject specific encylopediasnaar dit soort zoeksystemen 14.Searching (only) in titles + keywords
15.Ownership claims of inventions 15.Reports naar LibGuide over dit onderwerp 15.Patent databasesnaar dit soort zoeksystemen 15.Using the UBUink to get the full text and more
16.Word definitions 16.Review articles 16.Special statistics databasesnaar dit soort zoeksystemen (16. options depend on the exact search engine used)
  17.Statistical tables / reports 17.Special text collectionsnaar dit soort zoeksystemen 17. Filtering on Open Accessnaar LibGuide over dit onderwerp
  18.Systematic  reviews 18.Statline CBSnaar dit zoeksysteem  
  19.Tweets 19.Topsy  (or Twitter search)naar dit zoeksysteem  
  20.Professional magazine 20.Van Dale online naar dit zoeksysteem  
  21.Website (of organisation) 21.Web of Science naar LibGuide over dit zoeksysteemnaar dit zoeksysteem  
  22.(Subject) dictionariesnaar LibGuide over dit onderwerpnaar dit soort zoeksystemen 22.Wikipedia naar LibGuide over dit zoeksysteemnaar dit zoeksysteem  
    23.Worldcatnaar dit zoeksysteem  
    24.Youtube naar dit zoeksysteem (or Google Video)  

Still to do/add:

  • infotypes: jurisdiction, laws, music, journal status ?
  • pubtypes: weblectures, sheet music, software, journal rankings,music recordings ?
  • search engines: Delpher, JCR ?
  • functionality: clickable authors, direct export to RefWorks, web importer Mendeley, peer review indication ?