LibGuides: How to find literature about any veterinary topic for your EBCR or thesis: USE: Save, Read & Cite

Save your sources and Get access

STEP 7 SAVE sources in a Reference Management System

Why Reference Management

Various Reference Management Systems

Save selected sources

Good reference management is an enormous help in retracing what you have seen and read.

It also helps you to reuse, add annotations to, ánd share your references.

Of course you may download all literature that you wish to use into a specific folder on your device, and add citations and a bibliography to your paper 'by hand'.

But using a special Reference Management tool enables you to work more effectively and efficiently:

You can:

AUTOMATICALLY save all information about your sources in such a Reference Management System, via Export out of many Search Engines

Then you will have:

All literature in one place 'in the cloud', including links and/or pdf
All necessary information for correct citation of the sources

You can:

AUTOMATICALLY add citations of the sources to your own papers via 'Write & Cite' add-ins for Word and/or Google docs

AUTOMATICALLY construct a bibliography of the cited sources

There are dozens of dedicated reference management tools.

The most widely used free systems are:

Mendeley, an Elsevier tool, primarily built around a full text workflow, with good synchronisation between the desktop application and web interface, with a built in PDF-reader and strong social functions.
Zotero, an independent and open source tool, with very good ability to recognise and capture bibliographical data on webpages.

Utrecht University has two systems in license:

RefWorks, a complete tool, supported by many search engines and databases with fast and reliable direct export options. Handling of pdf's however, still asks editing of references by hand in most cases.

The University Library Utrecht offers LibGuides to support you in using RefWorks:

Manual RefWorks-3
Handleiding RefWorks-3 (Dutch version, some more detailed instructions)

EndNote, also very complete and professional, and with almost unlimited sharing functions; this tool has to be installed on your device.

Whatever tool you choose, it is always relatively easy to switch at a later stage and import your references in another tool.

In all of the ssytems, there are various possibilities to collect sources:

Direct Export from a search engine (a feature in Scopus, WoS, CAB Abstracts, Google scholar)

Download from the search engine and subsequent Import into your Reference Management System ('send to' procedure in PubMed)

Export from the editors page (not always possible!)

Via specific tools of that you use, such as the bookmark 'Save to RefWorks'

Let the Reference Management System perform a limited search in PubMed for easy Import of known articles

STEP 8 READ and CITE your sources

Direct access

Other possibilities

Cite while you write

Summer School students have received a Solis-ID from the Summer school office. With your Solis-ID you can access the Eduroam-network of Utrecht University and use all facilities of our digital library.

When using Search Engines via a page of the Utrecht University Library, the results list will show both external links (to editor pages) as well as the UBU-link

This link provides direct access to all publications that are in our digital collections.

In addition, it provides information about the availability of the publication via the University Library, in digital as well as in paper format.

In general, the UBU-link is in the form of the above red button, but it can also be a text link.

What if the UBU-link doesn't bring you to the Full Text? (This might occur when the journal, year or issue is not in the UBU digital collection.)

You might first try some other ways to get the pdf

What if it is still not possible to get the publication in digital format? (This might occur if it simply doesn't exist in that form.)

If you find an online version, you may have a look in the UBU-link menu: the article might be available in printed format from our depot.

In that case, ask a faculty member of the Summerschool programme, or ask one of the subject librarians ( f.p.weijdema@uu.nl or m.niessen@uu.nl).

In addition to the giant collection in depot (>5.000.000 items), the library offers an extensive collection of printed literature on the shelf.

This includes > 15.000 veterinary medicine books, opposite of the information desk.

Summer School students are not allowed to borrow books from the library, but feel free to stay a bit longer and do you readings on the spot.

Once you have your sources in an Reference Management System, you can easily add citations to you paper and insert a bibliography.