Skip to Main Content
Universiteitsbibliotheek – LibGuides

Naslag bij cursus GEO2-1118 en GEO2-4117: 3. Vastleggen: Mendeley, RefWorks of Zotero

informatievaardigheden bachelor aardwetenschappen en fysische geografie t.b.v.veldwerk Frankrijk en Spanje

Gebruik een tool voor referentiemanagement

Met de boxen rechts kun je jezelf snel op weg helpen in het gebruik van een referentiemanagement tool. Daarmee kun je gevonden referenties simpel opslaan (vanuit Scopus, Google Scholar e.d.d), ordenen en eventueel citeren in je paper en je bibliografie genereren. Als je helemaal volgt wat er staat ken je meteen vrijwel alle belangrijke functies. Je kunt kiezen uit:

  1. Mendeley: prettig omdat het heel goed een full text workflow ondersteunt; je hebt 2 GB opslagruimte.
  2. RefWorks: heeft voor iets meer bestanden een zogenaamde direct import; er is ook een speciale LibGuide RefWorks UBU LibGuide RefWorks beschikbaar waarin je veel meer info over RefWorks vindt; RefWorks heeft onbeperkte opslag.
  3. Zotero: is bijzonder omdat het geheel onafhankelijk en Open Source is en ook goed om kan gaan met afbeeldingen, kaarten, snapshots van webpagina's e.d.. Opslagruimte is vrij klein met 300MB in de gratis versie.

Alle drie de tools hebben vrijwel alle benodigde functionaliteit.

N.B. De boxen rechts gaan uit van installatie op je eigen computer. Als je een UU-PC gebruikt kun je waarschijnlijk sommige stappen overslaan omdat sommige software dan al is geïnstalleerd (vooral in de bibliotheekgebouwen en veel onderwijsruimtes in de Uithof). RefWorks is geheel webbased (op Proquest for Word = Write-n-Cite na dat voor de communicatie met Word zorgt).

Als je gaat citeren zorg dan dat je een zogenaamde citatiestijl (output style) gebruikt die voldoet aan wat door de opleiding wordt voorgeschreven. In het geval van aardwetenschaopen is dat de stijl die is vastgelegd door de American Society for Agronomy (ASA, niet te verwarren met de Americal Sociological Association!).

  • In Mendeley is deze stijl standaard beschikbaar.
  • In RefWorks is het lastiger en moet je de stijl van "Agronomy journal" gebruiken. Die stijl kun je toevoegen aan je lijst met favorieten in RefWorks via menuoptie Bibliography|Output Style manager
  • In Zotero is deze stijl standaard beschikbaar.

Aan de slag met Mendeley

MendeleyA) Setting up:

  1. Ga naar Mendeley en maak a gratis account aan
  2. Download de software om zo Mendeley te installeren op je computer (dit is op UU-computers reeds gedaan; daar kun je Mendeley starten met de via de Windows-startknop)
  3. Installeer de web importer bookmarklet in je browser vanuit de Mendeley web interface (My Library tab); zorg wel eerst dat je bookmarks/favourites tooolbar zichtbaar is in je browser (duik om dat te doen in je browser opties (Chrome) of stel het in via een rechter muisklik in de statusregel bovenaan (FirefFox))
  4. Installeer de add on (plug in) voor Word (deze heet Mendeley Cite-o-Matic); dit is de tool die het mogelijk maakt tijdens het schrijven in Word iets te citeren zonder Word te hoeven verlaten. NB dit is waarschijnlijk nog niet mogelijk op UU-computers.
  5. Configureer je watched folder.  Dit is een map op je harde schijf (bv. een die je "literatuur" noemt) die elke keer als je Mendeley start gelezen wordt. PDF-bestanden die je erin opslaat worden zo automatisch toegevoegd aan je Mendeley library. Dit regel je in de desktop applicatie via tools|options|watched folders.
  6. Configureer eventueel ook nog auto-renaming van bestanden om je files met een vaste naamconventie op te slaan (bv auteur-jaar-titel)
  7. Geef het adres op van de library link resolver (UBU-link). Je kunt dit doen in de web interface (ga naar de My Account|Account details|Sharing/importing tab en voeg daar bij library access links het andres van de UBUlink in (without the qoutes): "https://utrechtuniversity.on.worldcat.org/atoztitles/link". Maak dit de default.

B) Getting some stuff in:

  1. Go to Google Scholar, perform a search and import bibliographical data with the bookmarklet ('save to Mendeley') on your favourites toolbar
  2. Go to WorldCat, perform a search and import bibliographical data with the bookmarklet on your favourites toolbar (importing from Worldcat is a good alternative for importing form the UU library catalogue, which is more cumbersome)
  3. Go to Scopus, perform a search and import bibliographical data with the direct export option built into Scopus (tick relevant papers, click export and select save to Mendeley)
  4. From a new Scopus search go to the full text of a paper and from your PDF reader download that text as PDF in the folder on your hard disk that you set as watch folder
  5. On the Mendeley web interface go to the papers tab and search the Mendeley catalog for a paper; from there save the details to Mendeley or go to the full text and save the PDF to the watched folder on your hard drive
  6. Find out how you could add a reference completely manually (although you hope to avoid that of course)

C) Organising, reading, annotating

  1. Have a look at your library to see what you have imported/downloaded so far; look at what's in the recently added and needs review folders (incomplete references are in the needs review folder)
  2. From your library, open the full text of a publication, highlight some text and make an annotation at a certain point in the text
  3. Organise: add a tag to a reference tag (in the right hand pane with publication details) and make a folder (left hand pane) and drag&drop a publication in that folder
  4. Sync your library with your online account (sync button in the main menu)

D) Citing (probably not yet possible on university computers):

  1. Start Word
  2. Make a fake sentence, put your cursor halfway and save your document
  3. Using Mendeley Cite-o-Matic on the references tab of Word cite one publication from your Mendeley database
  4. Put your cursor on the in-text citation and click edit citation in the Medeley Cite-o-Matic menu to see how you can fine tune an in-text citation (e.g. for page numbers); N.B. you need to put your cursor in the textline of the edit citation dialog box to see the options
  5. Generate the bibliography using the option for that in Mendeley Cite-o-Matic
  6. Switch to another style (e.g. to APA or Chicago Style) and reformat the paper with that style

RefWorks (RefWorks Proquest)

Ga naar de aparte LibGuide voor RefWorks Proquest voor support bij het aanmaken en leren gebruiken van RefWorks.Proquest RefWorks

Aan de slag met Zotero

ZoteroA) Setting up:

  1. Go to Zotero, click download now and download and install Zotero Standalone
  2. Go back to the Zotero download page, scroll to thye bottom and install the  bookmarklet in your browser; make sure to make your favourites toolbar visible in your browser; this bookmarklet supports easy importing of bibliographical data
  3. From the same download page install the plugin for Micorsoft Word (this support citing while you write your paper)
  4. Start Zotero Stand Alone, go to options|preferences and then to 'advanced', then to the files tab to select a folder on your hard drive where you store/save your PDFs
  5. Also in options|preferences on the 'search' tab activate PDF indexing to be able to search the full text of your PDF files
  6. To activate  the library lookup functionality (=UBUlink) please enter the Utrecht University OpenURL-resolver address (with question mark included but without the quotes): "https://utrechtuniversity.on.worldcat.org/atoztitles/link" under tools|preferences|advanced|openurl

B) Getting some stuff in:

  1. Go to Google Scholar, perform a search and import bibliographical data with the bookmarklet  ('save to Zotero') on your favourites toolbar; go to your Zotero desktop application and synchronize (green icon top right) to see the reference
  2. Go to Scopus, perform a search and import bibliographical data with the bookmarklet on your favourites toolbar
  3. Go to WorldCat, perform a search and import bibliographical data with the bookmarklet on your favourites toolbar
  4. From a new Scopus search go to the full text of a paper and download that text as PDF in the folder on your hard disk that you set as linked (watch) folder; then, in Zotero add a new reference with the green +icon, select link to file and select the file on your hard disk; now you can add the metadata of that file by right-clicking the reference in your library and select the option to get the metadata
  5. Find out how you could add a reference completely manually (although you hope to avoid that of course)

C) Organising, reading, annotating

  1. Have a look at your library to see what you have imported/downloaded so far; right-click My Library tof left to make a folder and start sorting if you wish
  2. Select a reference in your library and using the right-hand pane add a tag/label
  3. Double click and item in your library with full text to read it in your PDF reader and use the options of that reader to annotate

D) Citing:

  1. Start Word
  2. Make a fake sentence and put your cursor halfway and save your document
  3. Using the Zotero functionality on the add-inns pag cite one publication from your Zotero database (you need to search for an author or title word, but you can also get a list by clicking the Z-icon in the dialog and select classic view)
  4. Put your cursor on the in-text citation and click the edit citation button to add a page number
  5. Create the bibliography with the bibliography icon
  6. Switch to another style (e.g. to APA or Chicago Style) and reformat the paper with that style; you can do this with the "set Zotero doc prefs" icon