Skip to main content
Universiteitsbibliotheek – LibGuides

Training Economics: Literature

Most used search engines

  1. Google Scholar (with UBUlink), for an orientation in the literature and to search for citations. LibGuide LibGuide Google Scholar

  2. Scopus, to search for journal articles and citations to articles. LibGuide LibGuide Scopus (in English) ; LibGuide LibGuide Scopus (in Dutch)

  3. Worldcat,  for books and e-books that are available in the Utrecht University Library LibGuide Worldcat

  4. RePEc:IDEAS, for working papers. [Find out more about RePEc:IDEAS]

  5. LexisNexis: Newspapers, for background information. LibGuide LibGuide LexisNexis

  6. Electronic journals UU, for full text articles in electronic journals to which the Utrecht University is subscribed. [Find out more about Electronic Journals UU]

 
You can find more sources in the list of search engines for Economics.

A quick orientation on your subject

For a quick and good orientation on your subject you can consult the New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics. New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Search by keywords or Browse by Topic. The Topics are based on the JEL classification.

EconLit

What is Econlit?EconLit

Econlit is a database containing bibliographical data of both books and journal articles that are part of the international literature on economics, including among others titles on theory of economics, history of economics, monetary theory, financial institutions and country reports. The database mainly contains English-language literature from 1961 onwards. Econlit is updated monthly.

Publications are classified according to the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) classification. See also: Econlit search hints

 

Searching Econlit

Econlit opens by displaying a main search page. It is divided into two parts:
- a default Search History window and
- a default query window (= Search; several tabs).

The screen Search offers many possibilities, most are self-evident.
Search tip: search in small steps first and then combine your searches on the Search History tab. To do so, select the boxes of results sets you want to combine, then choose a Boolean operator from the search history.

The search results are displayed below the query window.

  • On the left, the Search Information allows you to sort and filter the search results in various ways. The Results Tools can be expanded and closed.
  • At the top of the Results screen you will find hyperlinks to save or email or to export them, for instance to Refworks.
  • On the Results screen you will find hyperlinks to:
    - an Abstract,
    - the Complete Reference,
    - and to the UBUlink. If you click on this button you will see all possibilities to obtain the article or book.
     

Exercise

Directly to: EconLit

Electronic journals UU

In the journal list all full-text journals to which the Utrecht University Library has a subscription can be found.Find e-journals

For the field of Economics there are around 2900 mainly English-language electronic journals available.

Searching E-journals

Search by reference when you have sufficient bibliographical data (journal title, year of publication, issue number, page numbers).
or: 
Browse by title. Click on the journal title to access the e-journal. Click on the UBU link to see which volumes and years are available and other options.

 

Exercise

Directly to: Electronic journals

RePEc:IDEAS

What is RePEc:IDEAS?RePEc Ideas

RePEc is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to economics with over 500,000 references to working papers, journal articles, software components, authors and institutions.
IDEAS gives access to the RePEc database. With IDEAS the RePEc database can be browsed or searched. Many working papers records are linked to the full text. For many publications references and citations of those publications are listed as well. There are also rankings of highly cited authors and publications.

Searching RePEc:IDEAS

1. Search
With IDEAS you can search the bibliographical records, not the full texts themselves. Choose the "Advanced search" page. See the "Tips" on the search screen.

2. Browse JEL-codes
In RePEc many publications are coded according to the "Journal of Economic Literature" (JEL) classification. With IDEAS you can browse through the JEL classification to find literature by subject. How? -> Click on: "JEL Classification" and subsequently on the JEL-codes.

3. Related Research
Once you have found interesting publications, use the keywords and JEL-codes mentioned under "Related Research" to find more publications on the same subject.

4. Citations
Also take a look at the references and citations listed in the results screen. These cited or citing documents could be interesting too.

Exercise

Directly to RePEc:IDEAS

 

JEL Classification

Many economic publications are classified according to the subject codes of the "Journal of Economic Literature" (JEL). Also several search engines for economic publications classify publications according to these subject codes.

These subject codes can be used to find more publications about the same subject.

For an overview of the classification system and the subject codes see: Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) Classification codes guide.

UBU-link: links to full text and more options

In your search for scholarly literature you may sometimes find the UBU-link. This link provides information about the availability of the publication via the University Library, in digital as well as in paper format.

UBUlink, quickly to the publication

In the case of digital publications the UBU-link provides direct access. For print publications the UBU-link gives information about availability at Utrecht University Library. Sometimes the UBU-link is in the form of a red button, but it can also be a text link.

Keep yourself up to date with search alerts

If you are working on the same subject over a longer period of time, it is useful to be kept up to date about new results of a search action or new issues of journals you are interested in.

Many search engines  offer this option, but almost always you will be asked to create a personal account. The results will be sent to you by email, or in your RSS feed. Usually they pop up when you log in to the system.