Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Universiteitsbibliotheek – LibGuides

Training Economics: Statistics

StatLine

What is StatLine?

StatLine is the database of Statistics Netherlands (in Dutch: Centraal Bureau voor de Statistiek, CBS).
It offers data concerning many social and economic issues, presented in the shape of tables (default).
You can also compile, adjust and download your own tables and graphs. The information can be accessed, printed and downloaded free of charge. The English version of the database is less extensive than the Dutch version.


Searching StatLine
In the English version of StatLine there are two search options:

  • Search by keywords. Enter one or more search terms in the search box. Combine keywords with AND, OR, NOT, "  " (double quotation marks to search a phrase). The number of tables found is shown at the top of the search results. Refine the search results by using the filters (Theme, region, Year). The first line of every search result shows the name of the table found. Clicking on the name will bring up a preselected table. Click on the icon    to view the "Table explanation" (for definitions, sources, methods etc.)
  • Search by theme. The StatLine tables are categorized in 22 themes. Each of these themes has sub-themes. This option enables you to navigate through the themes and choose a table to select data from.

Open data: All tables in StatLine are available as open data in the form of datasets. Open Data is (government) data made available electronically in a coherent manner so that programmers can immediately use it for all sorts of applications. Open data can be used free of charge and quoting of the source is mandatory.


Check the User Manual (pdf) and FAQs to see how Statline works. The Dutch Help also offers instruction videos (in Dutch).


Directions to StatLine
The website is publicly accessible: statline.cbs.nl

Eurostat

What is Eurostat?Eurostat

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union.
The Eurostat website is available in English, German and French. The Eurostat website provides direct and free of charge online access to all its statistical databases and associated electronic publications.
The Eurostat database is updated twice a day.

The Eurostat homepage consists of 5 tabs: News, Data, Publications, About Eurostat, Help

Directly to: Eurostat

World Development Indicators (WDI)

World BankWorld Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates. It contains over 800 time-series indicators for 209 countries and 18 country groups, covering 1960 to last year. Included are sets of country tables, covering specialized topics such as social indicators, economic indicators, education, and population projection.

WDI is part of the World Bank DataBank. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them. Read the FAQ and the knowledgebase WDI

Directly to: World Development Indicators

Databases available at USE

The following search engines are only available at the Utrecht School of Economics:

  • WRDS (access to several databases)
  • Factset
  • Refinitiv Eikon

If you have any questions about these databases, or how to login, please contact your lecturer.

Statistics Netherlands News feed (RSS): "All news items" (3 items)

Loading ...

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary is OECD’s Online Library and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

The iLibrary contains country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, statistics and socio-economic databases from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, the environment, migration, social issues, and sustainable development.

Much content is also freely available to any site visitor, such as the OECD FactbookWorking Papers, OECD Key Tables, and more.

Consult the User Guide and Video Tutorials