Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Scopus?
Scopus is a search engine containing abstracts of articles and book chapters in all subject areas. It also contains the references from and citations to those articles and book chapters.
Use the to get to the article itself.
Where to find Scopus?
You will find Scopus under the list of search engines of the University Library.
The database can be accessed by Utrecht University or UMCU staff and students via SolisID or UMCU login.
UBUlink: availability of publications
In your search for scholarly literature you may sometimes find the UBU-link. This link provides information about the availability of the publication via the University Library, in digital as well as in paper format.
UBUlink, quickly to the publication
In the case of digital publications the UBU-link provides direct access. For print publications the UBU-link gives information about availability at Utrecht University Library. Sometimes the UBU-link is in the form of a yellow button, but it can also be a text link.
What do you find in Scopus?
In Scopus you will find sources from all disciplines, especially:
- health sciences (incl. the complete collection from MEDLINE, nursing, dentistry),
- physical sciences (incl. chemistry, physics, engineering),
- social sciences (incl. Arts & Humanities, psychology, economy, business)
- life sciences (incl. neurosciences, biology, pharmacologie)
Types of publications:
- articles from peer reviewed journals (incl over 5500 open access journals),
- oldest record from1788
- bulk from 1969 (incl references)
- cited references (from 1970)
- books and book chapters ( but NO book reviews)
- book series
- conference proceedings (only complete papers, NO conference abstracts)
- articles 'in press'
- Find here the most recent Scopus Content Coverage Guide
What to use Scopus for?
- scientific/scholarly articles
- citations of articles (from 1970)
- citation score of authors (H-index)
- citation data of the publications of authors
- the SNIP impact factor of journals
Searching for literature via an article you already know
First go to the article you already know, for instance by entering the author and some words from the title (select All fields); you may also limit to publication year.
If you click on the article your are given four options to find more literature:
- View references (on the right hand side) gives a list of older articles which this article refers to
- Via Cited by since 1996 (top right) you will find more recent articles referring to this article
- Via related documents you will find articles related to your article
- Click on the author's name: in this way you can see if he/she has written more about the subject.
Facts and figures
- Coverage period: 19th century to the present; where possible journals are indexed from the first volume; citation information from 1970
- Size: data on > 77 million documents from >25,000 journals from > 5,000 publishers
- Default search method: AND (spacing=AND)
- Default order of results: chronological (newest on top)
- Truncation with: *
- Provider: Elsevier
- ID for UU-users of PapersApp: 21878
Scopus Instruction material