Make a list with a minimum of 5 titles of research relevant to your text
Preferably a combination of books and articles
As a rule: only publications from 2000 and newer, unless you have good reasons to include an older publication
Between 2-4 relevant keywords are added to each title, using the 'tags' option
A 'note' is added to each entry. This note contains relevant author information that indicates disciplinary background and/or current position (max. 20 words), a few lines about why the source is relevant (max. 30 words), and, if it is a book: an indication (yes/no) if there is a book review available and if so a link to where it can be found, in case of a journal article: indication (yes/no) if the journal is peer-reviewed
You can search for Dutch and Flemish editions, journal articles, books, reviews and chapters from books in full-tekst in Digitale Bibliotheek voor de Nederlandse Letteren or DBNL (The Digital Library for Dutch Literature) and Google Books, and get a hold of the publications easily. Beware that you may miss important publications and that you will find a lot of titles that are not closely related to your subject.
You can search for descriptions of Dutch, Flemish and international editions, journal articles, books, reviews and chapters from 1940 to date in The Bibliografie van de Nederlandse Taal- en Literatuurwetenschap (Bibliography of Dutch Language and Literature). Sort your results by date, the most recent first. Use “ “ if you want to search for word groups (“Van den vos Reynaerde”) or use ? or * to find more hits, for example (Re?n*rt).
For a keyword search in international publications on Dutch texts or related medieval genres or research subjects, go to Google Scholar and MLA International Bibliography. They both describe and sometimes gives access to international scholarly journal books, articles, reviews and chapters from books – MLA International Bibliography especially on the topic of language and literature. For a quick search, limit your results to (peer reviewed) journal articles. Keep in mind that Google Scholar and MLA often provide a link to a digitised copy of the literature, but in order to get access you have to log in via the Utrecht University. The MLA International Bibliography has its own LibGuide.
The Netherlands Research Portal (Open Aire) is the national portal for information about researchers and their work and provides access to academic publications, for example dissertations.
Example:The Middle Dutch text Lancelot en het hert met de witte voet is part of a European tradition of Arthurian literature, so it can be relevant for your research to or find literature on for instance the character of Lancelot in other languages.
Article in peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journals
In order to safeguard the quality, articles of researchers are often reviewed by their peers before publishing (is the method valid, is the research question relevant?), for example A. Taylor, ‘Was there a Song of Roland?', Speculum 76 (2001), pp. 28-65.
As a rule of thumb, choose journal articles from peer reviewed journals (is mentioned in the journal, or check the journal list) over those in non-peer reviewed journals.
A dissertation or doctoral thesis is a book written by a PhD student on a particular subject, for example M. Veldhuizen, De ongetemde tong, Verloren, 2014 (in English: Sins of the Tongue in the medieval West, Brepols Publishers, 2017.) If you are looking for dissertations, the webpage Searching for dissertations is a good place to start.
Proceedings and edited volume
Published collections of book chapters or articles -sometimes based on papers presented by scholars and researchers at workshops, for exmple E. Kooper (ed.), Medieval Dutch literature in its European context, Cambridge, 1994, pp. 81-95.
They are important research sources, but they can also be hard to find. This LibGuide helps you find them.
Liber Amicorum
A liber amicorum (Latin for 'book of friends') is a collection with articles offered to a person by colleagues in honour of one’s anniversary or retirement, for example: B. Besamusca, F. Brandsma and D. van der Poel (eds), Hoort wonder. Opstellen voor W.P. Gerritsen bij zijn emeritaat, Verloren, 2002.
A dictionary is a reference work which gives the meaning of a word or explains aspects of a language. There are several kinds of dictionaries. For research to Middle Dutch texts a wonderful dictionary is available, containing 60,000 entries of words from 1250-1550 with 400,000 citations from over 4000 Middle Dutch sources. The online Dictionary of Middle Dutch is one of five Dutch dictionaries of the Geïntegreerde Taalbank (Integrated Language Database), http://gtb.inl.nl/ (make sure you tick the box of ‘MNW’).