LibGuides: Introduction to Literary Studies: Dutch

Dictionaries

Algemeen Letterkundig Lexicon (in Dutch only) with more than 4,000 terms in the field of literary theory in general: literary movements, eras and genres; classical rhetoric and metrics; current literary theory, popular literature, edition techniques and book studies.

Van Dale Onlinewoordenboeken: bilingual dictionaries EN/NL and NL/EN.

Search engines for Dutch

Bibliography

Bibliografie van de Nederlandse Taal- en Literatuurwetenschap (BNTL): (Dutch only). This bibliography contains references to publications about the Dutch language and literature. The references cover the period from 1940 onwards. Please note: if you search for reviews of novels, look under Artikelen not via publication type Recensies.

Collection of texts

Digitale Bibliotheek voor de Nederlandse Letteren (DBNL): (in Dutch only): website about the Dutch literature, language and cultural history. Contains literary texts, secundary literature and additional information such as biographies, portraits and links.

Book reviews

Literom: ca.6,50 full text reviews of mainly Dutch novels from 1900 onwards

LiteRom Wereldliteratuur: Book reviews of Dutch translatons of foreign literature. Every two weeks the latest reviews as well as interviews with authors are added to LiteRom Wereldliteratuur. It contains articles from Dutch newspapers and weekly magazines 1876 onwards.

All search engines

Search engines for Dutch

The language collections in the University Library City Centre

Where?

All language collections are located in the Utrecht University Library City Centre (wing D, alongside the Keizerstraat).

Dutch (NED), German (DUI) and English (ENG) are located on the ground floor
Literary studies (ALW), French (FRA), Italian (ITA), Spanish (SPA) and Celtic Languages (KEL) are located on the first floor.
Most collections of the Humanities has a dedicated page including a link to its classification, with all codes and their meaning.

The collection of Literary studies (ALW) you will find books on theoretical and empirical literary studies. Comparative literary studies are arranged by period.

Which structure does each language collections follow?

General: here you will find many dictionaries here
Linguistics
Literary studies (the greatest part): arranged mainly by period. Each period includes studies (general, by genre or motive) and next to that the authors from that particular period, arranged alphabetically, with primary sources (the work written by the author), translations and secundary sources (studies about the author).