Master ISS literature search: Getting hold of the full text

On this page:

Online access

Lean Library Tool

UBUlink for digital publications

Searching WorldCat or Google Scholar

Availability of (digital) journals

If the library does not have it?

Always available: Open Access

Other pages:

Introduction

Phrasing the search question

Search engines

Search strategy and techniques

--

Selecting and evaluating sources

Referring in APA style

Thesis

Summary and feedback

You can go from one page to the other by clicking on the tabs in the black top bar (for example, go to the tab Search engines) or use the next/previous buttons at the bottom of the page.

Read the pages from top to bottom.

You can navigate to specific topics or pages by clicking the links in the Index.

Do you want to read a digital article or an ebook, or do you want to search a specific database?

Utrecht University staff and students can access digital material, for which the library has a license, in different ways.

Read more about these different options on the website of the Utrecht University Library.

The Lean Library browser extension offers access to a large number of digital scientific sources, whether you are on campus or off-campus.

Every time you visit a website with publications licensed by Utrecht University Library, you are asked to log in. Next you will have direct access. Using the extension also gives you automatically access to Google Scholar and PubMed including UBUlink.

If you come across a publication which may not be available, Lean Library will try to find an open access version for you.

You download the extension once, select your institution and log in with your Solis ID or UMCU-account and password.

Want to know more? Visit the Online Access via Lean Library page of the Utrecht University Library.
Want to know more about all options to access digital publications? Visit our Online Access page.

In your search for scholarly literature you may sometimes find the UBU-link. This link provides information about the availability of digital publications via the University Library.  Sometimes the UBU-link is in the form of a yellow button, but it can also be a text link.

Want to know more about all options to access digital publications? Visit our Online Access page.

Digital material that we have in our collection here at the Utrecht University Library, can be accessed directly from the search result in WorldCat, for example online journals, journal articles and e-books.
For more information on how to search WorldCat and get access visit our WorldCat LibGuide.

WorldCat also includes the physical (printed) material from the Utrecht University Library collections. For access to the printed material you need to go to the library, for borrowing physical material you need a library card. Read more on access to physical material in our WorldCat LibGuide and read all about borrowing material on the library website.

You can also search Google Scholar for access to online articles. Use the UBU link or perhaps the Open Access link of the publisher.
For more information on how to get access to articles by using Google Scholar visit our Google Scholar LibGuide.

Most of the time you will be searching for articles by subject in scientific search engines, but sometimes you just want to know if Utrecht University Library offers access to a particular issue or article of a particular journal.

For that purpose you can check the list of Electronic Journals. There you will find the electronic journals available within Utrecht University in alphabetical order. You can browse the list or search by:

• title
• issn

You will find the volumes/years we have available, with links to the publishers' websites where you can find the full text.

You can also search for the online journal or online journal article in WorldCat at UU. Here you will also find additional information on availability at the Utrecht University Library and possible other Editions & Formats.

Many, but not all journals are online. If you want to know if a journal is available in the library in a print version, you will have to consult WorldCat at UU. Also note: you cannot search for articles in print journals. You need to search the journal volume and issue and get a physical copy at the library.

The moment you study or work at a university, you have access to all the material that the university pays for (for example via subscriptions and licenses). People who are not affiliated with a university or, for example, a university that does not have the means to purchase all these resources, often cannot access the content of the books or articles they need.

The Open Access (OA) movement strives to make scientific information publicly accessible, at no cost to the reader/user. An important aim of this is to ensure that publicly funded research benefits society as a whole.

Many publications of Utrecht University are now published in a form of open access. For example, as an article available for free in a 'normal' online journal, as an article in a fully open access journal or they are included in the Utrecht University Repository (searchable via Netherlands Research Portal (Open Aire).

Open access articles (and books, but there are far fewer) can be found in several databases, for example Scopus and Google Scholar. There are also databases that focus specifically on open access material. In addition, the Lean Library browser extension will alert you to open access versions of the resource you are looking for.

1. Was the UBU link wrong? Search our catalogue (by title of the book or print journal) and/or the list of journals  (seach by journal title) to be really sure it is not available. 
2. Is a book maybe online available free of charge? Check Google Books. Is a journal article maybe online available free of charge? Check Google Scholar (the links in the right hand column).
3. Does any other Dutch library hold the publication? Material from other Dutch libraries can be requested through WorldCat by clicking on the title of the item. Under "Availability" then "Libraries Worldwide" you will find the "Interlibrary Request" button. By clicking that you will be directed to a form where you can make your request. More info:  Interlibrary Loan (ILL). This service is not free of charge. It is also possible to order photocopies or scans, but you will also have to pay for them. Borrowing books directly from other Dutch libraries is free for Dutch students: have a library card made, and pick up and return the books yourself. Or let somebody you know in that city make photocopies of your book or journal.
4. Should this publication be in the collection of Utrecht University Library? Submit a purchase suggestion, or contact the subject specialist.
5. Mail the author: ask the author to send you the article. On publishers' sites and in databases such as Scopus you will often find the email address of the author.
6. X (Twitter) to the rescue! This may work for articles from journals to which the UU does not subscribe and that are not Open Acess. Send out a tweet with the URL and add the hashtag #icanhazpdf. Chances are good you will get into contact with someone able to legally send you a (PDF ot other) version of the text.
7. Does a foreign library hold the publication? Check WorldCat. Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request material from abroad.
8. Buy it yourself? Online access to an article can usually be bought via the publisher's site of the journal (use your creditcard); books can be bought in an (online) bookstore.