Introduction to the study of history: Looking for articles

In your search for scholarly literature you may sometimes find the UBU-link. This link provides information about the availability of digital publications via the University Library.  Sometimes the UBU-link is in the form of a yellow button, but it can also be a text link.

Want to know more about all options to access digital publications? Visit our Online Access page.

1. Use Google Scholar with UBUlink
2. Use lots of (specialist) search terms (see also the Libguide generating search terms . Your terms may also include an author's name if you have one
3. Limit the search result to the  years of your choice
4. Find related and sometimes more recent articles via the buttons cited by and related

WorldCat includes most scholarly libraries in the Netherlands (and also public libraries). You will find books, e-books, articles and much more. You can also use WorldCat to spot and borrow books from other Dutch libraries.

There is a list of search engines available for history (students) with different types of search engines. One important type of search engine is the bibliography. A bibliography contains material about a defined subject. The broadest bibliography for history we have is Historical Abstracts.

There are several ways in Google Scholar to get access to the full text:

Above the description

• click on the title

In the right hand column:

• click on the Fulltext@UBUlink or the [PDF] / [DOC] / [HTML] link

Or below the description:

• use the Full View link or UBUlink, under the >> icon (mouseover: 'more' ) on the blue line with links
• also try the all x versions link, to find other versions of this article

• For e-books, use the Library Search option (settings > library links > Open WorldCat-Library Search) to see if the book is available at the Utrecht University Library.

If Google can offer a direct [PDF], [DOC] or [HTML] link to the full text it sometimes does not show the UBU-link at all.