Skip to main content
Universiteitsbibliotheek – LibGuides

Training bronnen zoeken en gebruiken bij cursus GEO1-3052 : 3G: statistieken / feitenmateriaal

Ruimtelijke vraagstukken in Nederland

STATISTIEKEN EN FEITEN ZOEKEN: opdrachten

Geschatte tijd: 20 min.

  1. Bekijk de tips hiernaast.
  2. Zoek een relevante tabel in Statline (hier gaan we later verder mee oefenen)
  3. Zoek een relevante tabel in één van de andere hiernaast genoemde databases.

StatLine

What is StatLine?

StatLine is the database of Statistics Netherlands (in Dutch: Centraal Bureau voor de Statistiek, CBS).
It offers data concerning many social and economic issues, presented in the shape of tables (default).
You can also compile, adjust and download your own tables and graphs. The information can be accessed, printed and downloaded free of charge. The English version of the database is less extensive than the Dutch version.


Searching StatLine
In the English version of StatLine there are two search options:

  • Search by keywords. Enter one or more search terms in the search box. Combine keywords with AND, OR, NOT, "  " (double quotation marks to search a phrase). The number of tables found is shown at the top of the search results. Refine the search results by using the filters (Theme, region, Year). The first line of every search result shows the name of the table found. Clicking on the name will bring up a preselected table. Click on the icon    to view the "Table explanation" (for definitions, sources, methods etc.)
  • Search by theme. The StatLine tables are categorized in 22 themes. Each of these themes has sub-themes. This option enables you to navigate through the themes and choose a table to select data from.

Open data: All tables in StatLine are available as open data in the form of datasets. Open Data is (government) data made available electronically in a coherent manner so that programmers can immediately use it for all sorts of applications. Open data can be used free of charge and quoting of the source is mandatory.


Check the User Manual to see how Statline works. The Dutch Help also offers instruction videos (in Dutch).


Directions to StatLine
The website is publicly accessible:  statline.cbs.nl

Amadeus

Amadeus is a database of comparable financial information for public and private companies across Europe.

This Quick Tour allows you to visualise some of the application's main modules and features.

 

Directly to: Amadeus

Eurostat

What is Eurostat?Eurostat

 

Eurostat is the European Union’s statistical information service.
The Eurostat website is available in English, German and French. The Eurostat website provides direct and free of charge online access to all its statistical databases and associated electronic publications.
The Eurostat database is updated twice a day and covers:

  • the European Union 
  • the EU Member States
  • the euro area
  • Candidate countries
  • EFTA countries

The Eurostat homepage consists of 5 tabs: News, Data, Publications, About Eurostat, Help

  • Below the tabs, at the section Data you find direct hyperlinks to the 'Most Popular Tables', to the 'Complete database' and to 'Visualisations & tools' (including a quiz). 
  • In the 'Data' tab all Eurostat's data are accessible, for instance by theme or from A-Z
  • See Help > First Visit for an overview of what Eurostat has to offer. There is also a demo tour

Directly to: Eurostat

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary is OECD’s Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

Utrecht University Library subscribes to 8 themes in OECD iLibrary:

However, many content areas are freely available to any site visitor, such as the OECD Factbook, Working Papers, OECD Key Tables, and more.

DSI - AllThatStats

What is DSI - AllThatStats?DSI - AlThatStats

DSI - AllThatStats contains statistical information from various international statistical sources: The core World Bank databases, UNIDO’s industry statistics, IMF’s financial statistics, the latest OECD data collections, the statistical series of the European Union, key statistics from various Federal Reserve Banks and national statistical offices (especially for the German, US and Euro-Area economies).

Searching

In DSI - AllThatStats you can:

  • search for tables by keywords. In the opening screen you can search across all sources. At the level of sources/databases keyword search is restricted to the choosen source.
  • browse for tables by clicking on the source, the subject, etc. Most of the times this gives better results than searching by keywords.

For more information see the DSI - AllThatStats Help.

Directly to: DSI - AllThatStats

World Development Indicators (WDI)

World BankWorld Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates. It contains over 800 time-series indicators for 209 countries and 18 country groups, covering 1960 to last year. Included are sets of country tables, covering specialized topics such as social indicators, economic indicators, education, and population projection.

WDI is part of the World Bank DataBank. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them. Watch the tutorial and read the FAQs.

 

Directly to: World Development Indicators