Skip to main content
Universiteitsbibliotheek – LibGuides

Training Public International Law: case law

Training Public International Law

I.C.J. Reports

Decisions of the International Court of Justice (ICJ) are published in: Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders (ICJ Reports)

On the website of the International Court of Justice you can consult the ‘Cases’  with hyperlinks to ‘Contentious Cases’ (disputes between states) and hyperlinks to ‘Advisory Opinions’ (Opinions upon the request of the UN).
The ‘Contentious Cases’ have been ordered by year in which they were brought before the ICJ.
 

Hudoc

Judgments of the European Court of Human Rights are published in the HUDOC (Human Rights Documentation) database.

The database contains among other things the full text of judgments of the Court as of 1960 to date.

With every judgment, on tab Case Details, you will find a list of information concerning the judgment, such as case title, respondent state, date, the dictum in brief, relevant national legislation, other relevant case law, treaty provisions, etc.

Searching HUDOC
At the left hand top of the screen a box has been ticked for ‘Judgments’ as the default search setting.
At the right hand top of the screen you can perform a simple search or use Advanced Search to perform a detailed search.

Tutorials (videos, user manual and FAQ) are available.

More case law

  • Overview of International Courts & Tribunals, collected by World Legal Information Institute
  • Jurisprudence database from the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) provides access to case law emanating from "United Nations Treaty Bodies which receive and consider complaints from individuals: the Human Rights Committee (CCPR), the Committee against Torture (CAT), the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD), the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD), the Committee on Enforced Disappearances (CED), the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR), and the Committee on the Rights of the Child (CRC).
  • UU search engines Law > select type > Case law
  • Case law in the Utrecht University Library collection on Public International Law (arranged by subject: see section Y and for subject-related case law collections also the sections in question on the book shelves)