On this page you will find a comparison chart of available research profile websites
You might try one or more of these:
There are many things you can do to enhance the visibility of your research:
There are various types of sites and services that are important in fostering your visibility:
|Mendeley||Google Scholar||ORCID||Researcher ID||ScopusID||Research Gate||Academia edu*||UU pages|
|soc. media links||n||n||n||n||n||y||y||n|
|bio, interests, affil||y||y||y||y||n||y||y||y|
|user accounts 201310||2.5 million||?||>250K||?||na||~3 million||4.9 milllion||all UU|
|user accounts 201410||> 3 million||?||>950K||?||na||~5 million||>14.6 million||all UU|
|Utrecht users 201210||229||437||?||273||na||>1000||986||all|
|Utrecht users 201303||?||585||?||276||na||2304||1295||all|
|Utrecht users 201310 (incl. UMCU)||~1500? (Jan 2014)||678||~80||376||na||3036||1401||all|
Utrecht users 201410 (incl. UMCU)
|?||968||476 (UU only)||478||na||3648||3013||all|
|Utrecht users 201704||9449||all|
|adding publication data manually||y||y||y||n||n||y||y||n|
|adding publications (semi)automatically||many search engines + import RIS or BibTeX||Google Scholar||
Crossref + Scopus + RsearcherID + DataCite + PubMedCentral Europe
|WoS + ORCID||Scopus||PubMed + IEEE + CiteSeer + RepEc + BMC||Crossref + Microsoft AS+ PubMed + ArXiv||Metis / Pure|
* Academia figures include students and alumni
There is also a training available to learn more about researcher profiles
Whether you like it or not, Google Scholar is by far the most widely used bibliographical tool for scholarly publications. It has a problem however, and that is metadata control. You can enhance your findability by creating an account and telling Google which publications in their database are yours. After taking these steps searches on your name will show your profile on top of the results. The profile itself shows your list of publications in Google Scholar with basic metrics. Besides journal papers, it may also include books and reports.
NB Because new articles are automatically added to authors' profiles it is wise to check regularly, because in rare cases articles may be wrongly attributed to you.
ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID) is a non-proprietary, international ID that provides you with a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher. It is strategically important because it enables all databases to automatically link publications to you by your ORCID. At ORCID you can create a profile, link it to your Scopus ID, ResearchID and/or import publications from a so-called crossref search. Further functionality is being developed.
ResearcherID is the profile tool from Thomson Reuters, the owners of Web of Science and the Journal Citation Reports. Researcher ID offers a public profile. You can choose what to show publicly. Researcher ID is also important as a basis to provide feedback to Web of Science for grouping author name variants or corrections to affiliations.
The Scopus Author ID is not a researcher profile site, but helps author recognition and disambiguation when searching publications. Many researchers already have a Scopus ID without realising it. By checking the correctness of publications assigned to your Scopus Author ID, you will certainly help others finding your stuff. It will also improve completeness and correctness of citation analyses. And it also improves feeds of your publications list to be shown on other sites.
ResearchGate is a very large (originally German) researcher community linking researchers around topics. It is frequently used to ask questions to collegues all over the world that have the same set of interests and specialisations. You can choose which topics or researchers to follow. You can automatically populate your publications list or add items from reference management tools or add manually. You can even upload and share full text publications (e.g. last author versions that many publishers allow you to share).
Academia.edu is a large researcher community. Just as ResearchGate it connects scholars around topics. You can add papers through a built in search using Microsoft Academic, PubMed and ArXiv. You can also add ful text. The process is easy, but the coverage not as comprehensive as Google Scholar.
One of the steps towards visibility and efficient reference management is a Mendeley account. Mendeley is an Elsevier-owned reference management tool that is used by millions of researchers, offers immediate readership statistics and has strong social functions. Probably many of your publications are already present in the Mendeley database, but with your own account you can make sure that all of them are. And you can do much, much more.
Of course, for the reference management function of Mendeley there are many alternatives, such as Zotero, Endnote, RefWorks and more. See the seperate guide on reference management.
The Utrecht University staff profile pages are available since Spring 2013. You can add your CV, profile and list additional functions (free text). It also lists your publications as entered in the University Research Information System Metis. Often this is done for you by the faculty or department administration once every 3, 6 or 12 months. However, one thing you can do yourself is upload the full text of publications to make these more visible.
1) Go to your UU profile page and start editing by logging in top right. Add some text on tthe CV tab. Even just listing one or two current research projects, areas of expertise or subject keywords will help foster your visibility
2) Have a look at your contact information tab. Add links to your other profiles (Linked-In, Google Scholar, ORCID, Academia and others you may have). You can also choose to adds these links to the profile tab.
3) Have a look at your publication list. Are there titles of which you have the full text available to upload? It does help to do this. You can do this via your PURE account. Your publications will become available in the Utrecht University repository and by that will become easily findable with free full text in Google Scholar. That means they are available to scholars, professionals and lay people, even if they do not have access to the expensive journal plaforms. Yes, there are sometime copyright issues, but the good thing is: the library always does a final copyright check. In some cases you are not allowed to upload the publisher version of papers, but are allowed to upload your last author version (after peer review but without the publisher's typesetting etc.)