Skip to main content
Universiteitsbibliotheek – LibGuides

Training scholarly information handling for geoscience faculty & PhDs: 4. Publishing & impact

Publishing and research impact

This page of information and tips on publishing and measuring and improving your research impact.

On this page you'll find:

  1. Selecting a journal for your paper
  2. Open Access publishing
  3. Open Access search engines
  4. Research data conservation and sharing
  5. Researcher profiling sites
  6. H-index

And you might try:

  1. Creating a list of relevant journals in the Journal Citation Reports
  2. Find out whether there are interesting Open Access journmals in your field
  3. Finding out the ease with which you can store and share a data file on Utrecht Dataverse Network
  4. Comparing your H-index using different sources
  5. Finding out the frequency, origin and context of citations to your publications using Scopus

Journal metrics

Some journal lists with metrics:

Some tools to find journals matching you paper

A few journal reviewing sites

These are few sites offering reviews of (experiences with) journals. These are still in their infancy, so the number of reviewed journals is limited. You can help by filling out a review or scorecard.

Open Access publishing

Open Access: why, where, how? The Basics

Why?

1) Because it gives more people access to (publicly funded) science (=idealism, accountability). The UU has signed the Berlin Declaration supporting this idea.

2) Because it gives your work greater exposure (self interest)

3) Because it increases the chance of your work being cited (Wagner 2010 bibliography of Open Access citation advantage (self interest)

4) Because in the long term it may save universities money, and thus potentially increase research budgets

5) Because it gives a signal to publishers currently making huge profits to change their pricing policy

6) Because sometimes it is a requirement set by research funding bodies: Wellcome Trust / NIH / ERC / ESCR (UK) / NWO / FP7 / Horizon 2020

Where?

1) In real full Open Access journals (golden route), see lists at  DOAJ. Web of Scoence also has an OA filer (at the journal level); or in real Open Access books.

2) As an OA article in regular journals offering OA against a fee (APC, article processing charge). Most publishers currently offer offer this option. These journals are called hybrid journals, becuaqse articles may be OA or non-OA

3) In university repositories such as Igitur or other institutional repositories such as PubMedCentral by sharing the last refereed author version of the article (green route) which many commercial publishers allow (see Sherpa Romeo site for what is allowed). Some publishers even allow deposit of the publisher’s version. Depositing can be done by your department through Metis or by you using the publications tab in your UU profile page.

4) In  pre-prints or working paper archives as is common in physics, pyschology, computer science and economics [such as ArXiv, CERN, CogPrints EconPapers]

 

Golden route: free or fee?

1) Free, in OA journals not requiring a fee

2) With financial support to pay the APC fee::

- NWO fund ( for NWO funded research, max 5000€ per project)

- UU fund (50%)

3) Free for you, in journals for which the fee has already been paid through a generic deal (e.g. in some Physics Journals)

 

Drawbacks, obstacles, things that need working on

1) More difficult to cite exact pages of author versions because the lack markup and page numbering

2) Many recently set up OA journals have not yet been included in journal impact databases such as WoS/JCR and Scopus (but this is improving)

3) DOAJ listing does not (yet) show whether journals are peer reviewed

4) A small number of OA journals and repositories is not yet well indexed by Google Scholar

5) In some disciplines full OA journals are still lacking in number or quality

By the way...

1) The University Library actively supports the creation of new Open Access journals

2) There are special licenses you can send to your publisher allowing you to retain the copyright

More information in our full Open Access LibGuide

Open Access search engines

Open AccessOpen Access articles are freely available. Below you will find a list of search engines containing only or mainly Open Access material

If you want to find out what journals are Open Access you can check the Directory of Open Access Journals

DOI

Do you know the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) of the article you are looking for? Copy/paste it in the search box and see if an Open Access version is available.

 

 

Research data management and sharing

The  LibGuide on research data offers you all information on data management, searching for data and more.

Researcher profile sites & services compared

There are various types of sites and services that are important in fostering your visibility:

  • Author disambiguation services: ORCID and ResearcherID (and also DAI/NARCIS, VIAF and ISNI that are managed by libraries and registration agencies and require no user action from academics)
  • Personal sites and social media: Facebook, LinkedIn, own website, blog
  • Researcher Communities: Academia / ResearchGate
  • Reference managrment tools with social functions: Mendeley
  • Search engines with author profiles: Google Scholar, Scopus
  • University author profile pages: UU pages
  Mendeley Google Scholar ORCID Researcher ID ScopusID Research Gate Academia edu* UU pages
publications list y y y y y y y y
publications linked y y y y y (poss.) (poss.)  (poss.)
publications metrics y y n y y y y n
soc. media links n n n n n y y n
bio, interests, affil y y y y n y y y
user accounts 201310 2.5 million ? >250K ? na ~3 million 4.9 milllion all UU
user accounts 201410 > 3 million ? >950K ? na ~5 million >14.6 million all UU
Utrecht users 201210 229 437 ? 273 na >1000 986 all
Utrecht users 201303 ? 585 ? 276 na 2304 1295 all
Utrecht users 201310 (incl. UMCU) ~1500? (Jan 2014) 678 ~80 376 na 3036 1401 all

Utrecht  users 201410 (incl. UMCU)

? 968 476 (UU only) 478 na 3648 3013 all
Utrecht users 201704           9449   all
uploading papers y n n n n y y y
adding publication data manually y y y n n y y n
adding publications (semi)automatically many search engines + import RIS or BibTeX Google Scholar

Crossref + Scopus + RsearcherID + DataCite + PubMedCentral Europe

WoS + ORCID Scopus PubMed + IEEE + CiteSeer + RepEc + BMC Crossref + Microsoft AS+ PubMed + ArXiv Metis / Pure

* Academia figures include students and alumni

There is also a training available to learn more about researcher profiles

 

 

Your h-index

Your H-index is calculated as follows: h is the biggest number for which there are h publications which are all cited at least h times.

This way the H-index expresses in one number the extent to which your work is cited ánd the quantity of your publications. H-indexes of starting researchers are always low, even when they have written some widely cited articles. Your H-index can never fall, not even when you have stopped publishing or when your work does not receive citations anymore.

Besides, the H-index is a relative index. A low score in one subject area, may be very high in another. An H-index is only meaningful when you compare it to that of colleagues in your own discipline.

You can check you h-index easily using author search in Web of Science or Scopus. Because the coverage of these databases varies, the h-index for the same researchers are also different and depends on the database used. You can also manually calculate your h-ndex using Google Scholar or any other database with citation information.