Web of Science is a multidisciplinary search engine and also a citation database for scientifc and scholarly literature in all areas of study.
For many articles WoS contains the references given by the authors, as well as the citations of that particular article by other authors. That way you can easily find related articles and you can also find information about the impact an article has (made).
In this LibGuide you can find information and useful tips on Web of Science.
You can use the Editions dropdown menu (see box Web of Science Core Collection) to select the specific editions of the database you wish to search, for example the (Social) Science Citation Index or the Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Choose a search field. All Fields is the default and searches all sections in each article record. You can combine search fields or limit yourself to a specific field from the list to target exactly what you need
Click Add date range if you wish to narrow your results by publication or index date
When you have found an article, you may find more literature by clicking on:
Use Web of Science to:
The Web of Science Core Collection contains:
Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1900-present
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1900-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --2015-present
Next to the core collection (use the drop down option next to Web of Science Core Collection) you can also search through the KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980-present), MEDLINE® (1950-present) and the SciELO Citation Index (2002-present).
If you are searching for a specific journal go to the Web of Science Master Journal list. If you want to know which journals are included in the 4 collections click on the blue button 'Search journals', choose 'Web of Science Coverage' and select the collection of your choice.
In your search for scholarly literature you may sometimes find the UBU-link. This link provides information about the availability of digital publications via the University Library. Sometimes the UBU-link is in the form of a yellow button, but it can also be a text link.
Want to know more about all options to access digital publications? Visit our Online Access page.