A) Setting up:
- (First time installing, on UU computers, for UU staff only): First make sure all MS Office applications are closed. Using the Windows Start menu go to All programs | UU-applications and click "EndNote 18". It will install but this may take a while. NB: If you use an official UU laptop, please make sure to have it in a docking station or cable-connected to the UU internet. NB. This is not possible in computer rooms and the library. There you will have to use your own laptop or request access to EndNote via MyWorkplace through your IT department.
- (First time installing, on your own Windows or Mac computer, for UU-staff only): follow the procedure as outlined on the software and license codes pages on the intranet (under EndNote). When installing, make sure all MS Office applications are closed.
- (First time use, on UU-computers, for UU-students only): Use MyWorkplace. Start EndNote there and continue with point 3 below.
- (First time use, on own laptop/PC etc, for UU-students only): Install MyWorkplace. Start EndNote there and continue with point 3 below.
- From the start menu start the EndNote desktop application.
- Create an EndNote Library by choosing File | New from the menu and give it a useful name. This can be on the computer hard disk, an external drive or a cloud drive (e.g. Dropbox or SurfDrive,) that you have also installed locally. Note that EndNote itself advises to only use your computer's hard drive though.
- Enter the UU-library link resolver (UBUlink) and UU-library proxy for finding full text. To do this select Edit | Preferences from the menu and choose Find full text. Enter https://sfx.library.uu.nl as OpenURL path and enter https://login.proxy.library.uu.nl as URL to authenticate with.
- If you usually collect full text PDFs in a specific folder on your hard drive or cloud drive you can let EndNote check your folder with PDFs every time you start the application and add new ones found to your EndNote library. To do this go to Edit | Preferences | PDF handling, check enable automatic importing and enter the path to your folder with PDFs.
- If you also want to be able to work with EndNote through a web interface (e.g. to synchronize EndNote on multiple devices) go to Web of Science (log in with Solis credentials if prompted for that), click EndNote on the top menu bar and sign up for an EndNote account (advice: use a new username and password, not your Solis-ID).
- Go back to the EndNote desktop application. Go to Edit | Preferences, choose Sync and provide your EndNote online account credentials to facilitate syncing between the active EndNote Library in your desktop application and your EndNote Online account. You also have to provide the path to the folder where you stored your EndNote library file (*.enl). For this put your cursor in the box under Sync this EndNote library. If you do not get the option to browse to the folder with your *.enl file, please use Windows Explorer to go to that folder, put your cursor in the address bar of Windows Explorer and copy|paste the path from Windows Explorer to the sync location box in EndNote. Note that these syncing preferences only take effect after restarting EndNote desktop.
- Close and restart EndNote.
- Open MS Word. If all is well, the EndNote X8 add-on for Word (also called cite-while-you-write, CWYW) is already installed now as an extra tab. Please note that you can connect MS Word to either EndNote desktop (default) or to your EndNote Online account. To switch between these, select Preferences | Applications from the EndNote X8 menu in Word.
B) Getting some stuff in:
- Go to Google Scholar, dive into the Settings and choose to show EndNote import links (option available under Search results | Bibliography manager). Next, perform a search and import the reference by clicking Import into EndNote and (save plus) open the file. The reference will automatically display in your EndNote Library.
- Go to Scopus and perform a search. Then select one or more results by checking them in the list of results. Export the relevant citation(s) by choosing export and (save plus) open the file as RIS. It is advisable to export not only the citation but also the abstract information.
- Go to WorldCat, perform a search and import bibliographical data from the full record of a single item by clicking cite/export and (save plus) open the file.
- Search a literature database from within EndNote.To do this click the icon with the globe in the magnifying glass. When doing this online search you can toggle between showing the search results, your library or a combination of both, with the folder/globe icons top left. From the search results select the relevant reference(s) and right click to select Copy references to your library. Please note there are only a few large databases for which direct search from EndNote is currently possible (e.g. PubMed and the Library of Congress catalogue) and that search functionality is usually better in the databases themselves.
- Add a PDF you have saved on your computer/drive by selecting File | Import | File in EndNote. Select PDF as Import option. Metadata will automatically be extracted.
- Find out how you could add a reference completely manually (although you hope to avoid that of course) by using Reference | New reference from the menu.
- Select one or more selected items in your list of references and use the right mouse button to select the option to find full text. You will probably be prompted to login (once for every EndNote session). A screen with the library list of search engines might also once pop up - just click Continue. Note that depending on the number of references selected finding full text may take several minutes and that finding full text this way is not always successful.
C) Organising, reading, searching, annotating:
- Sync your library by choosing Tools | Sync or clicking the sync icon (circle with two arrows)
- Have a look at your library to see what you have imported/downloaded so far; your last imported reference is also in the imported references folder. Organize the table view by rearranging (drag-drop) and (de)selecting columns: highlight the column by clicking the column title and right-click to deselect it or add other fields.
- Note that you can organize references in folders, called Groups in EndNote. Simply create a group using the Group menu. Select one or more references in your library and right-click and choose Add reference to... to add them to the group.
- Click a reference in the list of all references to show details in the right hand window or double click to open the full record. Here you can manually add/edit/correct information if needed.
- Select a reference that already has a full text PDF attached and click the PDF in the right hand window. For better reading make that window wider. Use the tools in that window to search for a term in the text or to highlight some text and/or annotate that. Save the PDF after that. There is also an option here (arrow pointing up/right) to open the PDF in a separate full window.
- To search your library simply click Show search panel on the icon bar and use the many options you get.
- Start Word
- Make a fake sentence and put your cursor halfway and save your document. Position the cursor where you want to insert an in-text citation.
- Using the EndNote controls in the EndNote X8 tab click insert citation, search for an author or title word and select the citation to insert. Note that the insert button has various options under the small arrow.
- Switch to another style, e.g. to APA or Chicago Style (choose one of the styles often used in your field (in Dutch))
- Click edit and manage citations to add page numbers, prefixes or suffixes to one or more in text citations.
- Save your work.
Support from EndNote itself: https://endnote.com/training, also see their own Clarivate EndNote LibGuide.