Skip to main content
Universiteitsbibliotheek – LibGuides

Literatuurbeheer: Aan de slag met de belangrijkste systemen

Starten met RefWorks, EndNote, Mendeley, of Zotero

Via de links in de onderstaande  boxen kun je snel aan de slag met een of meer van onderstaande literatuurbeheerprogramma's.

Experimenteer met wat basismogelijkheden. Het duurt ongeveer 45 tot 75 minuten.

Naar Systemen vergeleken

Getting started with Zotero

ZoteroA) Aan de slag met Zotero:

  1. Ga naar Zotero, en download en installeer Zotero 5. Hiermee installeer je in een keer het programma en de Word plugin. Installeer vanaf dezelfde site ook de Zotero Connector voor je browser.
    • Dit werkt het best met Firefox
  2. Start Zotero Stand Alone, go to Edit | Preferences and then to 'advanced', then to the files tab to select a folder on your hard drive where you store/save your PDFs. This works faster if you select a local drive.
  3. To activate  the library lookup functionality (=UBUlink) please enter the Utrecht University OpenURL-resolver address (with question mark included but without the quotes): "http://sfx.library.uu.nl/utrecht?" under Edit | Preferences  | Advanced  OpenURL

B) Getting some stuff in:

  1. Go to Google Scholar, perform a search and import bibliographical data with the bookmarklet  ('save to Zotero') on your favourites toolbar; go to your Zotero desktop application and synchronize (green icon top right) to see the reference
  2. Go to Scopus, perform a search and import bibliographical data with the bookmarklet on your favourites toolbar
  3. Go to WorldCat, perform a search and import bibliographical data with the bookmarklet on your favourites toolbar
  4. From a new Scopus search go to the full text of a paper and download that text as PDF in the folder on your hard disk that you set as linked (watch) folder; then, in Zotero add a new reference with the green +icon, select link to file and select the file on your hard disk; now you can add the metadata of that file by right-clicking the reference in your library and select the option to get the metadata
  5. Find out how you could add a reference completely manually (although you hope to avoid that of course)

C) Organising, reading, annotating

  1. Have a look at your library to see what you have imported/downloaded so far; right-click My Library top left to make a folder and start sorting if you wish
  2. Select a reference in your library using the right-hand pane add a tag/label
  3. Double click an item in your library with full text to read it in your PDF reader; you can also use the annotation options of the reader.

 

Support from Zotero itself: https://www.zotero.org/support/

Aan de slag

RefWorks

Gebruik onze Handleiding RefWorks-3

Onder SNEL-AAN-DE-SLAG maak je in een paar minuten kennis met de vier basale stappen:

  • Account aanmaken en Invoegtoepassingen ('Citation-tools') installeren
  • Referenties van bronnen verzamelen
  • Verwijzen naar bronnen
  • Literatuurlijst aanmaken

Onder andere tabs staan gedetailleerde aanwijzingen voor het

  • Beheren van database en het gebuik van alternatieve verzamel- en verwijzingsmethoden.

EndNote

Voer eerst onderstaande stap uit

  • Installeren (Dit verschilt per type gebruiker, werkplek en apparatuur
    • UU-medewerkers:
      • Installeren op de UU-computer op je werkplek: sluit alle  Microsoft Office applicaties. Ga via ....naar het Sofwarecenter en klik je op "EndNote 18". Het installeren kan een tijdje duren. NB. Als je een laptop van de UU gebruikt, zorg er dan voor dat hij in het docking station staat of een bekabelde aansluiting heeft met het UU internet. NB2. Dit is niet mogelijk in computerzalen en in de bibliotheek. Daar zul je je eigen laptop moeten gebruiken of toegang tot Endnote moeten aanvragen via je IT-afdeling via MyWorkplace
      • Installeren op een eigen computer: volg de uitleg op het UU intranet (onder EndNote).
    • UU-studenten:

Gebruik vervolgens de Handleiding EndNote van de Radboud-Universiteit voor aanwijzingen hoe je dit programma handig kunt gebruiken.

  • Referenties van bronnen verzamelen
  • Verwijzen naar bronnen
  • Literatuurlijst aanmaken
  • Beheren van de database

Hulp van EndNote zelf is te vinden via http://endnote.com/training,  en ook via Clarivate EndNote LibGuide

 

Zotero

Voer eerst onderstaande stap uit

  • Account aanmaken en Invoegtoepassing installeren

Ga naar Zotero, klik op download now en download en installeer Zotero Standalone. Ga terug naar de Zotero download pagina, scroll  helemaal naar beneden en installeer de bookmarklet in je browser. Zorg ervoor dat je favorieten zichtbaar zijn in je browser. Deze bookmarklet ondersteunt het makkelijk importeren van bibliografische gegevens.

De Microsoft Word plugin wordt (doorgaans) automatisch mee geinstalleerd. Er wordt in Word een extra tabblad zichtbaar "Zotero". Als dit niet zo is, kun je de Invoegtoepassing alsnog installeren vanuit Zotero. Sluit hiervoor MS Word helemaal af, ga in Zotero naar: Bewerken > Voorkeuren > Citeren > Tekstverwerkers, en installeer de add-on nogmaals.

Activeer de library lookup functionality (=UBUlink) door Zotero-stand-alone te starten en dan onder: Bewerken > Voorkeuren > Geavanceerd  >openurl  de volgende url in te typen: "http://sfx.library.uu.nl/utrecht?" (mét het vraagteken maar zónder de aanhallingstekens)

Gebruik vervolgens de Handleiding Zotero van de Radboud-Universiteit voor aanwijzingen hoe je dit programma handig kunt gebruiken.

  • Referenties van bronnen verzamelen
  • Verwijzen naar bronnen
  • Literatuurlijst aanmaken
  • Beheren van de database

Hulp van Zotero zelf is te vinden via  https://www.zotero.org/support/

Mendeley

Voer eerst onderstaande stap uit

  • Account aanmaken en Invoegtoepassing installeren

Ga naar Mendeley, maak een gratis account aan en download de software om Mendeley op je computer te installeren. Installeer dan de Mendeley Importer in je browser en installeer ook de Add on (plug in) voor Word (de zogenaamde Mendeley Cite-o-Matic); dit is de tool waarmee je citaties importeert tijdens het schrijven van je stuk.

Gebruik vervolgens de Handleiding Mendeley van de Radboud-Universiteit voor aanwijzingen hoe je dit programmam handig kunt gebruiken.

  • Referenties van bronnen verzamelen
  • Verwijzen naar bronnen
  • Literatuurlijst aanmaken
  • Beheren van de database
Hulp van Mendeley zelf is te vinden via: http://support.mendeley.com/

Aan de slag met RefWorks

Go to the Manual RefWorks-3:

  • With Quick Start, you will learn in a few minutes the basic operations; i.e. Collecting  literature references in your personal database and Adding citations and a Bibliography to your text documents
  • NB: this Libguide is still under construction!
  • Details and FAQs will be added soon, concerning
    • Export of references from various databases, such as PubMed, Web of Science etc.
    • How to Install Write-N-Cite on various devices
    • How to use the tool 'Save to RefWorks'
    • How to manage and edit your references in your personal database

Getting started with EndNote

A) Setting up:
EndNote

  1. (First time installing, on UU computers, for UU staff only): First make sure all MS Office applications are closed. Using the Windows Start menu go to All programs UU-applications and click "EndNote 18". It will install but this may take a while. NB: If you use an official UU laptop, please make sure to have it in a docking station or cable-connected to the UU internet. NB. This is not possible in computer rooms and the library. There you will have to use your own laptop or request access to EndNote via MyWorkplace through your IT department.
  2. (First time installing, on your own Windows or Mac computer, for UU-staff only): follow the procedure as outlined on the software and license codes pages on the intranet (under EndNote). When installing, make sure all MS Office applications are closed. 
  3. (First time use, on UU-computers, for UU-students only): Use MyWorkplace. Start EndNote there and continue with point 3 below.
  4. (First time use, on own laptop/PC etc, for UU-students only): Install MyWorkplace. Start EndNote there and continue with point 3 below.
  5. From the start menu start the EndNote desktop application.
  6. Create an EndNote Library by choosing File | New from the menu and give it a useful name. This can be on the computer hard disk, an external drive or a cloud drive (e.g. Dropbox or SurfDrive,) that you have also installed locally. Note that EndNote itself advises to only use your computer's hard drive though.
  7. Enter the UU-library link resolver (UBUlink) and UU-library proxy for finding full text. To do this select Edit | Preferences from the menu and choose Find full text. Enter http://sfx.library.uu.nl as OpenURL path and enter https://login.proxy.library.uu.nl as URL to authenticate with.
  8. If you usually collect full text PDFs in a specific folder on your hard drive or cloud drive you can let EndNote check your folder with PDFs every time you start the application and add new ones found to your EndNote library. To do this go to Edit | Preferences | PDF handling, check enable automatic importing and enter the path to your folder with PDFs.
  9. If you also want to be able to work with EndNote through a web interface (e.g. to synchronize EndNote on multiple devices) go to Web of Science (log in with Solis credentials if prompted for that), click EndNote on the top menu bar and sign up for an EndNote account (advice: use a new username and password, not your Solis-ID).
  10. Go back to the EndNote desktop application. Go to Edit | Preferences, choose Sync and provide your EndNote online account credentials to facilitate syncing between the active EndNote Library in your desktop application and your EndNote Online account. You also have to provide the path to the folder where you stored your EndNote library file (*.enl). For this put your cursor in the box under Sync this EndNote library. If you do not get the option to browse to the folder with your *.enl file, please use Windows Explorer to go to that folder, put your cursor in the address bar of Windows Explorer and copy|paste the path from Windows Explorer to the sync location box in EndNote. Note that these syncing preferences only take effect after restarting EndNote desktop.
  11. Close and restart EndNote.
  12. Open MS Word. If all is well, the EndNote X8 add-on for Word (also called cite-while-you-write, CWYW) is already installed now as an extra tab. Please note that you can connect MS Word to either EndNote desktop (default) or to your EndNote Online account. To switch between these, select Preferences | Applications from the EndNote X8 menu in Word.

B) Getting some stuff in:

  1. Go to Google Scholardive into the Settings and choose to show EndNote import links (option available under Search results | Bibliography manager). Next, perform a search and import the reference by clicking Import into  EndNote and (save plus) open the file. The reference will automatically display in your EndNote Library.
  2. Go to Scopus and perform a search. Then select one or more results by checking them in the list of results. Export the relevant citation(s) by choosing export and (save plus) open the file as RIS. It is advisable to export not only the citation but also the abstract information.
  3. Go to WorldCat, perform a search and import bibliographical data from the full record of a single item by clicking cite/export and (save plus) open the file.
  4. Search a literature database from within EndNote.To do this click the icon with the globe in the magnifying glass. When doing this online search you can toggle between showing the search results, your library or a combination of both, with the folder/globe icons top left. From the search results select the relevant reference(s) and right click to select Copy references to your library. Please note there are only a few large databases for which direct search from EndNote is currently possible (e.g. PubMed and the Library of Congress catalogue) and that search functionality is usually better in the databases themselves.
  5. Add a PDF you have saved on your computer/drive by selecting File | Import | File in EndNote. Select PDF as Import option. Metadata will automatically be extracted.
  6. Find out how you could add a reference completely manually (although you hope to avoid that of course) by using Reference | New reference from the menu.
  7. Select one or more selected items in your list of references and use the right mouse button to select the option to find full text. You will probably be prompted to login (once for every EndNote session). A screen with the library list of search engines might also once pop up - just click Continue. Note that depending on the number of references selected finding full text may take several minutes and that finding full text this way is not always successful.

C) Organising, reading, searching, annotating:

  1. Sync your library by choosing Tools | Sync or clicking the sync icon (circle with two arrows)
  2. Have a look at your library to see what you have imported/downloaded so far; your last imported reference is also in the imported references folder. Organize the table view by rearranging (drag-drop) and (de)selecting columns: highlight the column by clicking the column title and right-click to deselect it or add other fields.
  3. Note that you can organize references in folders, called Groups in EndNote. Simply create a group using the Group menu. Select one or more references in your library and right-click and choose Add reference to... to add them to the group. 
  4. Click a reference in the list of all references to show details in the right hand window or double click to open the full record. Here you can manually add/edit/correct information if needed.
  5. Select a reference that already has a full text PDF attached and click the PDF in the right hand window. For better reading make that window wider. Use the tools in that window to search for a term in the text or to highlight some text and/or annotate that. Save the PDF after that. There is also an option here (arrow pointing up/right) to open the PDF in a separate full window.
  6. To search your library simply click Show search panel on the icon bar and use the many options you get.

D) Citing:

  1. Start Word
  2. Make a fake sentence and put your cursor halfway and save your document. Position the cursor where you want to insert an in-text citation. 
  3. Using the EndNote controls in the EndNote X8 tab click insert citation, search for an author or title word and select the citation to insert. Note that the insert button has various options under the small arrow.
  4. Switch to another style, e.g. to APA or Chicago Style (choose one of the styles often used in your field (in Dutch))
  5. Click edit and manage citations to add page numbers, prefixes or suffixes to one or more in text citations.
  6. Save your work.

Support from EndNote itself: http://endnote.com/training, also see their own Clarivate EndNote LibGuide.

Getting started with Mendeley

MendeleyA) Setting up:

  1. Go to Mendeley and make a free account
  2. Download the software to install Mendeley on your computer
  3. Install the Mendeley Importer in your browser.
  4. Install the add on (plug in) for Word (the so-called Mendeley Cite-o-Matic); this is the tool that allows citing while writing your paper.
  5. Configure your watched folder.  This is a folder on your hard drive (e.g. one called "literature") that is being read each time when you start Mendeley desktop. PDFs you drop there are automatically added to your Mendeley library. You can do this in the desktop application under tools|options|watched folders.
  6. Optionally configure auto-renaming files to use a fixed naming convention for your files (e.g. author-year-title)

B) Getting some stuff in:

  1. Go to Google Scholar, perform a search and import bibliographical data with the bookmarklet ('save to Mendeley') on your favourites toolbar
  2. Go to WorldCat, perform a search and import bibliographical data with the bookmarklet on your favourites toolbar
  3. Go to Scopus, perform a search and import bibliographical data with the direct export option built into Scopus (tick relevant papers, click export and select Save to Mendeley)
  4. From a new Scopus search go to the full text of a paper and from your PDF reader download that text as PDF in the folder on your hard disk that you set as watch folder
  5. On the Mendeley web interface go to the papers tab and search the Mendeley catalog for a paper; from there save the details to Mendeley or go to the full text and save the PDF to the watched folder on your hard drive
  6. Find out how you could add a reference completely manually (although you hope to avoid that of course)

C) Organising, reading, annotating

  1. Have a look at your library to see what you have imported/downloaded so far; look at what's in the recently added and needs review folders (incomplete references are in the needs review folder)
  2. From your library, open the full text of a publication, highlight some text and make an annotation at a certain point in the text
  3. Organise: add a tag to a reference tag (in the right hand pane with publication details) and make a folder (left hand pane) and drag&drop a publication in that folder
  4. Sync your library with your online account (sync button in the main menu)

D) Citing:

  1. Start Word
  2. Make a fake sentence, put your cursor halfway and save your document
  3. Using Mendeley Cite-o-Matic on the references tab of Word cite one publication from your Mendeley database
  4. Put your cursor on the in-text citation and click edit citation in the Mendeley Cite-o-Matic menu to see how you can fine tune an in-text citation (e.g. for page numbers); N.B. you need to put your cursor in the text line of the edit citation dialog box to see the options
  5. Generate the bibliography using the option for that in Mendeley Cite-o-Matic
  6. Switch to another style (e.g. to APA or Chicago Style) and reformat the paper with that style

Support from Mendeley itself: http://support.mendeley.com/