Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Universiteitsbibliotheek – LibGuides

Manual RefWorks-3: Alternative collection methods

translation of Dutch version

Alternative collection methods

STEP 3  ... if you can't or don't want to EXPORT

Collect literature references via an alternative method (B, C, D, E)

BE AWARE that Method D and Method E might seem to be fast, but are less reliable: references obtained with those methods usually require a lot of additional manual editing!


Method (B)Use 'Search databases'

This is a very useful method for collection of a few biomedical articles

from which you already have a print or some specific information.

For single articles, this method is much faster then download from PubMed (Method (C)!

  • Open your RefWorks database
  • Click on [Search databases]
  • Type some words from the article Title and/or Author name and/or Year;
  • Click on the [loupe] button;
  • Tick one or more hits;
  • Click [Import].

 

Method (C): Use 'Add > Import References'

This method is OK in this cases:

  • Copying references from your older (legacy) RefWorks database
  • Importing references that you have downloaded from a SEARCH SYSTEM without Direct Export function

  • Open your RefWorks database
  • Click [+]
  • Click [Import references]
    • Click [RefWorks];
    • Click [Authorize].
  • OR
    • Click [select a file from your computer] and select a file, e.g. a *txt document saved in MEDLINE-format from PubMed
    • Control the Import format that RefWorks now suggests (for *.txt MEDLINE files from PubMed, the Import format should be NLM PubMed)
    • Click [Import]

 


Method (D): Use 'Add > Upload document'

 

Use this method ONLY for sources

that you already have downloaded onto your computer

  • Open your RefWorks database
  • Click (+) and hit [Upload document];
  • Wait until the reference is added;
  • View the result.

 

The result strongly depends of the type and format of the of source!

  • Journal articles:  RefWorks usually makes this a correct and complete reference
  • Reports, Directives, Prescriptions, Proceedings: RefWorks often cannot make a complete reference of those

 

Method (E): Use 'Save-to-RefWorks'

Use this method ONLY for

Webpages

OR

 'normal' scientific publications that you can NOT FIND in any scientific SEARCH SYSTEM

 

One-time installation of the bookmark 'Save-to-RefWorks'

  • Open your RefWroks databse

  • Click  on the [Tools/More]  symbol;

  • Click once more on [Tools];
  • Browse to the tool 'Save to RefWorks' and click on [Install Save tot RefWorks];
  • Drag the tool-button to the you favorites/bookmarks bar in your browser.

 

Collection: proceed while you have the source that you want to collect on your screen

  • Click on the bookmark;
  • ... the data is 'translated' by RefWorks;
  • Check the suggested reference
    • add missing data
    • correct wrong data (or data that are in the corresponding field);
  • Click [Save to RefWorks] again at the bottom right.  

 

The result strongly depends of the type and format of the of source!

  • Html-pages; Text-pdf's:  RefWorks usually makes this correct and complete references
  • Photo-pdf's; Websites: In most cases, RefWorks will suggest references that are not yet complete, and/or where some data are in the incorrect field

 

Proceed with STEP-4 of Quick Start