Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Have a look at the information on the right.
- Go to Blackboard for your RefWorks account username and password.
- In the previous excercises you have exported references to RefWorks.
- From one of the references in your RefWorks folder click the UBUlink to see how to get from RefWorks to the full text (if available).
Citing in Word with RefWorks
Read the tips and information on the right.
- Open Word and start Write-n-Cite from Windows using the Proquest tab in teh menu bar.
- Log into Write-n-Cite with your RefWorks username and password
- Write a few lines of short dummy text in the Word-document
- Cite a publication from your RefWorks account using Write-n-Cite
- Cite a second one at another place in your Word document
- Using the bibliography option in Write-n-Cite, generate the bibliography and in-text citations. Select the Vancouver style as output style.
RefWorks: a simple way to record and cite literature
Anyone writing papers and citing sources may save time by storing, managing, sharing and citing by using a literature management tool. With RefWorks, a programme supported by Utrecht University, you can, whenever you are online:
- Record data of articles, books etc:
- import data from search engines and databases
- search in for instance PubMed and Web of Science directly from RefWorks
- import data from other literature databases (belonging to other persons)
- enter data yourself
- Manage your own created literature database: search, sort, remove duplicates, organise in folders, add extra keywords/tags
- Share (parts of) your literature databases with one or more persons
- Cite sources from your database in texts by only one mouseclick or automatically generate a bibliography in the citation style of your choice
On the RefWorks website you can create an account. You may also install a small tool on your computer which makes citing in Word easier. RefWorks is free for members of the Utrecht University community. It is also available for alumni, as long as the university has a licence.
In the special RefWorks-LibGuide (Dutch) you will find import tips, solutions to any problems and further details on the program.
Citing with RefWorks
What it comes down to when using tools like RefWorks is saving time bij simple citing and generation lists of references when writing papers or a thesis. For citing use Write-n-Cite: a smal piece of software for the communication of your RefWorks account with Word.
Citing using Write-n-Cite, pre-installed on university computers:
(information on downloading and installing Write-n-Cite 4 at home)
- Start Word and open the Proquest tab in the menu bar.
- Click 'Login' and choose 'RefWorks' in the next screen.
- Log in with your RefWorks username and password.
- Open your paper/thesis in Word
- Put the curor where you want te in-text citation
- In the Write-n-Cite toolbar, click 'Insert citation' and go to the folder containing the reference you want to cite
- Select the reference you want to cite and click 'OK'
- In your Word document there is now a so-called placeholder to be formatted later on
- Cite more references if you want
- In Write-n-Cite go to 'bibliography', choose the output style of your choice and generate your formatted paper with the list of references
In the RefWorks-LibGuide (Dutch) you will find more detailed information on working with Write-n-Cite.