Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Training searching & handling scholarly information for GEO2-2208
In this training in the course GEO2-2208 you will learn how to search and use scholarly sources systematically and responsibly. You will also learn to evaluate sources and save them using the RefWorks or Mendeley tools. The training consists of the lecture by Bosman and this hands on session. Before you start, make sure to read the guidelines.
Guidelines for this hands on session
This training takes 2 hours to complete. It is wise to read the explanatory texts on the right of each page before carrying out the assignments on the left. When in doubt please ask for assistance.
This session consists of 5 parts, each on its own numbered page. Page 6 is just included for reference if you start citing later on. The left column has the asignments in green topped boxes. The information on the right povides background and explanation.
N.B: part 4 has a main page and four subpages for each of the types of information you will be searching for.
This training is largely about learning to search systematically. Please read below on what makes a good search strategy.
After finishing this training you will know all you need to do the assignments. When you are finished please take a minute to leave your feedback on the feedback tab.
Search strategy: what, where, how?
Your search strategy defines what you search, where you search and how you perform your search. In the course of your search process you take many decisions that affect the quality of search results and the time needed to get those results.
The main decisions in your search strategy relate to:
- What: in advance think through what information you really need: subject, type of information (analysis, news, statistics, opinion, overview etc.), level and recency. The exact terms you are going to use in your search are of crucial importance.
- Where: What you are looking for determines where you should go to find it: unfortunately there is not one search engine or database that has it all.
- How: There are various methods of searching. The systematic/bibliographic method (using search terms in scholarly databases) and the snow ball method (finding new information related to what you already have) are the most important. The exact application of these methods depends on the options available in the database or search engine.
The special LibGuide search strategy (in Dutch) has more on building successful search strategies.
The university library is online, but it is a building as well!
Nowadays you can do online research, with many thousands of online journals and books made available by the library. But not everything is online! Some stuff still is only available in hardcopy. For that and more please visit the University Library Uithof, with:
- Study places, with and without computers and with wifi throughout the building
- Print books and journals in Geoscience on the second floor
- colection G-REF: print reference works for all geoscience, geography and environmental scinece fields
- collection G-AW: all earth sciences including physical geography
- collection G-GE: geography, including planning, transport and innovation studies
- collection G-MI: environmental science and policy
- collection G-TS: print journals, arranged A-Z
- tens of newsletters
- Print books and journals in Social Science on the third floor
- collection S-SO: sociology
- Print books and journals in Science (Biology, Chemistry, Physics) on the fourth floor
- Maps (sheets and folded, old and new) and atlases in the map room on the sixth floor
- Lounge area on the bridge to the Van Unnik building
- Newspapers and general interest magazines on the first floor
- Study cabins and group facilities
- Face to face support (ask a librarian) on the first floor
The University Library City Centre houses among others the printed books in economics, history and law.