Skip to main content

Training finding and handling scholarly information for GEO4-3510: 1. Intro

Development themes

Training finding & handling scholarly information for GEO4-3510

In this training in the course GEO4-3510 on Development themes masters in International Development Studies you will learn how to search and use scholarly sources systematically and responsibly. You will also learn to evaluate sources and save, organise and cite them using Mendeley, RefWorks or Zotero. The training consists of the lecture by Bosman and this hands on session. Before you start, make sure to read the guidelines.

Guidelines for this hands on session

This individual training takes 2 hours to complete. It is wise to read the explanatory texts on the right of each page before carrying out the assignments on the left. When in doubt please ask for assistance.

This session consists of 6 parts, each on its own numbered page. The left column has the asignment in green topped boxes. The information on the right povides background and explanation.

N.B: part 4 has a main page and 5 subpages for each of the types of information you will be searching for.

Please go through the pages at your own pace and liking: skip what you already know or are able to perform and dive into the sections that are new to you.

Success!

The university library is online, but it is a building as well!

architectural impression of Utrecht University Library in The Uithof campusNowadays you can do online research, with many thousands of online journals and books made available by the library. But not everything is online! Some stuff still is only available in hardcopy. For that and more please visit the University Library Uithof, with:

  • Study places, with and without computers and with wifi throughout the building
  • Print books and journals in Geography and Geoscience on the second floor, a.o.:
    • collection G-GE: geography, including planning and development studies
    • collection G-MI: environmental studies
    • collection G-TS: print journals, arranged A-Z
    • collection STAT: print statistics
    • tens of newsletters
  • Print books and journals in Social Science on the third floor, a.o.:
    • collection S-CA: anthropology
    • collection S-SO: sociology
  • Maps and atlases in the map room on the sixth floor
  • Lounge area on the bridge to the Van Unnik building
  • Newspapers and general interest magazines on the first floor
  • Study cabins and group facilities
  • Face to face support (ask a librarian) on the first floor

The University Library City Centre houses among others the printed books in economics, history and law.

ReCollection: a serious game about finding and using information

ReCollection-menu   ReCollection

ReCollection is a serious retro style game built by 9 students Information Science of Utrecht University and 2 students of the the Creative College of ROC Amersfoort for  Utrecht University Library. Versie 1.0 of the game has been live since Juli 4, 2014.

Please have a go at this game at the end of the session (if you have some time left, or try it at home).

In a number of quests the player becomes aware of what it takes to search effectively and handle information well. The first simple quest acts as a short tutorial that shows you how to play the game.

The game is fully webbbased and requires no downloads. It is advised to use Chrome or a recent Firefox version not the IE browser. You can save your game and contiunue playing later, but only on the same device.

Please meet geeky Zenerio, half-drunk Mr. Choll, book wurm Belia, gossipy Mrs. Choll, the quirky gardener and other members of the Secret Society. But what is it that actually happened to you?

After playing the game please let us know what you think of it by starting a discussion in the comments box below. With your feedback we can further improve it!