Skip to main content
Universiteitsbibliotheek – LibGuides

WorldCat (En): Introduction

Introduction

WorldCat is a catalogue where you can search for literature on a global, national and Utrecht University Library level. 

You will find the Utrecht University Library collection in WorldCat,  together with material from thousands of other libraries and publishers worldwide.

Utrecht University Library offers you optimized access to WorldCat, including extra search and filter options, via:

https://utrechtuniversity.on.worldcat.org

WorldCat also has a general entry without these additional options which can be found at Worldcat.org.

What do I find in WorldCat?

Besides books, WorldCat contains CDs, DVDs and many other types of materials.

Via the Utrecht University entry you will find:

  • The contents of more than a thousand libraries from all over the world.
  • The Utrecht University Library collection.
  • Access to a selection of databases for which the university library has a license.

ATTENTION: it is therefore not possible to access all the licensed databases in WorldCat. Find the full list of search engines at the University Library website.

Borrowing items from other Dutch libraries

Material from other Dutch libraries can be requested through WorldCat by clicking on the title of the item. Under "Availability" then "Libraries Worldwide" you will find the "Interlibrary Request" button. By clicking that you will be directed to a form where you can  make your request. 

IBL aanvraag in Worldcat

Access to digital material

You can access digital material via WorldCat directly from your search results. Access the material by clicking the blue button which is either called "view full text", "view eBook", "Access journal", "Listen to audio", "View now" or "Access online". 

The full text of open access articles is always available. For a lot of other digital material Utrecht University Library offers licenses.  When on campus you will always have access to this licensed material. Off campus you will have to log in with your Solis- or UMC account. For more information please read the page about online access.

Access to print material at Utrecht University Library

In WorldCat you can also find the printed (meaning paper books or journals) material from the Utrecht University Library collections. The real time availability for every item can be seen on the results page. You will also be able to see where the book or journal is located in the library.​

If you do not see the location directly in the results, click on the title for more information.

Read how to find the right edition of a book here.

Requesting and borrowing

You can take books that are on the open shelves and check them out yourself at the self-issue machines, but you can also request items by clicking the "Request item@UU" button. Material that is in the depositories must always be requested. If items are on loan you can use the "Request item@UU" button to make a reservation. You will be asked to log in with your Solis-id, UMC-account or library card number first.

Renewing borrowed items

Viewing and renewing your borrowed publications can be done via the "Renew my books" link under the Library Links at the top right of the screen: 

After clicking the link you are requested to log in with either your Solis-ID, UMC-account or library card number.

Find out more

Off-campus log in

If you search off-campus (not on a UU network) in the WorldCat UU entrance, a login screen appears. Here you can choose to log in with your Solis-id or UMC account, or to continue as a guest.

Solis- or UMC account log in

It is recommended to log in using your Solis- or UMC details, because then you will have access to all the options the library has to offer. Accessing WorldCat will be the same as when you are on the Utrecht University network.

Continuing as a guest

If you choose to continue as a guest you will still be able to search WorldCat and see the real time availability of your results, but you won't have access to material and databases to which the University Library has a license. You can still borrow print books by using your library card.

Borrowing items from abroad

Request Items from abroad by clicking on the title of the item. Under "Availability" then "Libraries Worldwide" you will find the "Interlibrary Request" button. By clicking that you will be directed to a form where you can  make your request. 

Sometimes you will not be allowed to take your items from abroad home. In that case you can view them in the Special Collections reading room at the Universiteitsbibliotheek Uithof.