Skip to main content
Universiteitsbibliotheek – LibGuides

Training finding and handling scholarly information for GEO4-3510: 4E. Statistics

Development themes

SEARCHING FOR STATISTICS

Have a look at the information on the right.

  1. Try all three statistics databases on the right to check whether they contain relevant variables concerning your topic.
  2. Using plain Google, check whether the country you will be doing your research in has an official statistical bureau with online statistics.

DSI - AllThatStats

What is DSI - AllThatStats?DSI - AlThatStats

DSI - AllThatStats contains statistical information from various international statistical sources: The core World Bank databases, UNIDO’s industry statistics, IMF’s financial statistics, the latest OECD data collections, the statistical series of the European Union, key statistics from various Federal Reserve Banks and national statistical offices (especially for the German, US and Euro-Area economies).

Searching

In DSI - AllThatStats you can:

  • search for tables by keywords. In the opening screen you can search across all sources. At the level of sources/databases keyword search is restricted to the choosen source.
  • browse for tables by clicking on the source, the subject, etc. Most of the times this gives better results than searching by keywords.

For more information see the DSI - AllThatStats Help.

Directly to: DSI - AllThatStats

World Development Indicators (WDI)

World BankWorld Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates. It contains over 800 time-series indicators for 209 countries and 18 country groups, covering 1960 to last year. Included are sets of country tables, covering specialized topics such as social indicators, economic indicators, education, and population projection.

WDI is part of the World Bank DataBank. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them. Watch the tutorial and read the FAQs.

 

Directly to: World Development Indicators

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary is OECD’s Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

Utrecht University Library subscribes to 8 themes in OECD iLibrary:

However, many content areas are freely available to any site visitor, such as the OECD Factbook, Working Papers, OECD Key Tables, and more.